top of page

President's Day at Lansdown GC on Tuesday 22nd June 2021.

127 Captains ventured out on a bright and breezy morning to do battle for the 2021 President’s Salver.

A big thank you to the starters who helped keep us on track at the 1st Tee:

Rod Thomas (Current Captain), Paddy Crowley, John Butler (Chairman), and Mike Cheek (all past Captains)

The course was in excellent condition and the pin positions certainly presented an additional challenge.

We were greeted at the halfway cabin by The Ladies who ensured that we were suitably fed and watered (The Lemon Drizzle and Chocolate cakes were delicious)

Thanks to Sue Parry, Pam Sessions, Di Smith and Roberta (Bo) Smith, you did a great job!

The current Lansdown Captain, Rod Thomas, welcomed everyone to the club just before a short presentation of prizes by our President. Rod was asked to forward the donation to Lansdown GC on behalf of The Gloucestershire Golf Captains and also to pass on our thanks to the Lansdown members for accomodating the event and also to the Bar, Catering & Greenstaff for their professionalism.

Many thanks to our President, Ian Smith, for hosting and facilitating this event

Ian Cornwell adjudicated on the scorecards (thanks a lot Ian!) and the results were as follows:

2s Draw

There were 13 recorded and names drawn out of the hat for a sleeve of golf balls each:

Roger Moss (C.E.)

David Webb (Lan)

Eddie Robinson (Lil)

James Moloney (Lil)

Chris Wagsstaff (Lil)

Taras Ciuriak (Lil)


Nearest the Pin (Each receiving a bottle of wine provided by our President, Ian Smith).

5th - Ian Browne (Min)

8th - Steve Hotchkiss (Fil)

10th - Dave Thomas (FoD)

12th - James Moloney (Lil)

14th - Dave Thomas (FoD)


4th Place (with 41pts B9)

81pts - John Rosser; John Trolan; Mike Parkin; Stuart Bernau. (All Minchinhampton)

3rd Place

83pts - Alan Parker; Phil Porter; Jim Hoyle; Ron Messer. (All Tracy Park)

2nd Place

84pts - Neil Pirie; Alan Veitch; Joe Garry; Tony Gough. (All Lansdown)

1st Place and winners of the 2021 President's Salver

88pts - Taras Ciuriak; Eddie Robinson; Chris Wagstaff; James Moloney. (All Lilley Brook)


All receive Marks & Spencers vouchers

bottom of page